- Why have we chosen for WordPress?
- Why aren't we updating the One.com blog tool?
- When will the One.com blog tool be discontinued?
- Will all blogs be migrated?
- When will the automatic migration happen?
- When can I start a manual migration?
- When will my blog be archived?
- Why do I need to select a different location for my blog?
- Will my blog be offline during the migration?
- How long will the migration take?
- Where can I find my blog after the migration?
- Will my blog look any different after the migration?
- What about my old blog posts, images and comments?
- Will the users be migrated as well?
- What username and password should I use?
- My blog is set to private, will this be the same?
- I no longer need my blog, can I export my blog posts?
- How can I delete my blog?
Why have we chosen for WordPress?
We have chosen WordPress because it gives our customers the best performance and the most flexibility.
It is the most used platform in the world, which means there is a lot of documentation to be found on the internet for all levels of users in a lot of different languages.
There are thousands of plugins and themes available to personalise your blog and add more functionality. And it's easy to migrate, which means you can relocate your blog to another domain or different hosting provider.
Why aren't we updating the One.com blog tool?
Updating the One.com blog to modern standards would require a lot of resources, and then most of our customers would still prefer to use WordPress.
We rather spend these resources on creating integrations and plugins that enhance the WordPress experience for our customers. That way we are able to offer the best of both worlds; a WordPress blog that integrates perfectly with One.com hosting.
When will the One.com blog tool be discontinued?
The One.com blog tool will be discontinued on December 11th, 2019. On that day all remaining blogs will be archived to the private folder on your web space, and at the same time, we will remove the One.com blog tool from the control panel.
Up until that day, you can start a manual migration of your blog, and delete any blogs you no longer need.
Will all blogs be migrated?
Blogs that have had recent activity are migrated automatically. Blogs that haven't had any activity in a long time, will instead be made available for manual migration. The same counts for blogs that were created on a location that is currently used by something else, or blogs that have no content.
To avoid confusion, all blogs on a specific domain are handled in the same way. So, if automatic migration isn't possible due to other content on your web space, then all blogs on that domain will be made available for manual migration.
If you have multiple domains hosted with us with a blog that was created with our blog tool, you will receive an email for each domain.
When will the automatic migration happen?
The automatic migration will be done during September. We are unable to give you the exact date, but as soon as the migration of your blog is completed we will send you an email with more information.
When can I start a manual migration?
On September 11th, all the remaining blogs will be made available for manual migration in the One.com control panel. From then on you have 90 days during which you can migrate your blog to WordPress. After the manual migration has completed, you will receive a confirmation via email.
After 90 days all leftover blogs will be archived to the private folder on your web space (httpd.private), so no content will be deleted. If you don't need your blog anymore, we recommend that you delete it.
When will my blog be archived?
On December 11th, 2019, all the remaining blogs, will be archived to the private folder on your web space. You can access your private folder by logging in via SFTP. It cannot be accessed via File Manager.
We will send you an email with more information shortly before this date.
Why do I need to select a different location for my blog?
When you start a manual migration of your blog, you may need to select a different location. You are asked to do this if the location where you originally created your blog, is currently used by something else, and, migrating your One.com blog here, would overwrite this content. For example, another WordPress installation.
You can check what the current content is via File Manager. If you no longer need it, we recommend that you remove it and then restart the blog migration. Otherwise, simply choose a different location for your blog migration.
If you don't use your One.com blog anymore, but want to keep the content, you can also decide to leave your blog as it is and wait until its content gets archived to your private folder.
Will my blog be offline during the migration?
Unfortunately, a little bit of downtime cannot be avoided, but it should only be for a few minutes. While the migration is ongoing there will be a notification visible on your site, that informs your visitors that your blog is being migrated.
How long will the migration take?
Normally, the migration takes only a few minutes. It depends on the size of the blog how long exactly. Blogs with a lot of posts will take longer than those with only a little content.
Where can I find my blog after the migration?
You can find your blog under "WordPress" > "Existing 1-click WordPress installations" in the One.com control panel. Here you can click "WP admin" to open your WordPress dashboard.
Will my blog look any different after the migration?
No, the design of the blog will be exactly the same. We will create a WordPress theme for you that looks like your One.com blog theme. The login area and the comment section will look different, and of course, once you log in you will see a WordPress dashboard.
What about my old blog posts, images and comments?
Everything will be migrated, including all posts, images and comments.
We recommend that you check your blog after the migration has been completed, and to contact our support if something doesn't look right or if something is missing.
Will the users be migrated as well?
Yes, all users will be migrated to WordPress. They will all get the "author" role, which allows them to create and edit (their own) posts.
For security reasons, only the web space owner (contact email address) will be given the Administrator role. As an Administrator you can, among other things, invite new users or change the role of existing users. So if you want, it's very easy to change the role of one or more of your users.
What username and password should I use?
You can use the same username (email address) and password as before. If you don't remember your password, you can request a new one by clicking the lost password link on the login screen.
To log in as the Administrator, you need to use the web space email address as username. If you didn't have a user with this email address on your blog before, you also need to set a new password.
Once you are logged in as an Administrator, you can invite new users or change the role of existing users to for example, Editor or Administrator.
My blog is set to private, will this be the same?
Yes, it will. When you open the blog in your browser, you will now see a WordPress login box. You can change this under Appearance > Customize > Blog Settings.
I no longer need my blog, can I export my blog posts?
After the blog has been migrated, you can export your blog posts to an XML file from your WordPress dashboard. Click Tools > Export and then choose what to export. You can keep the file stored on your computer or import it into another WordPress site.
All blogs that haven't been migrated when the 90 days period expires will be archived. They will then become available for download from the private folder on your web space.
How can I delete my blog?
If your blog hasn't been migrated, you can delete it from the Blog section in the One.com control panel. Click on "Delete" under actions, and then "Next" to confirm that you want to delete it. Please note that this action cannot be undone and it's not possible to restore a backup.
If the migration has already been completed, you can easily remove it from the WordPress section in the One.com control panel. You might want to export your posts to an XML file before removing it.
Check our guide for step-by-step instructions: How do I delete a 1-click WordPress installation?